California is in the Pacific Time Zone, and observes daylight saving time.
California Sales Tax is 7.25%.
The legal drinking age in California is 21.
You must be 18 to purchase tobacco products. Smoking is prohibited on public transportation and in public buildings. Most restaurants and bars have no-smoking policies.
Drivers must carry a valid driver's license from your home state or country.
The minimum age for drivers is 16 with training, 18 without.
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher. If arrested for driving under the influence, you must submit to a chemical test to determine blood alcohol content.
Seatl belts must be worn by all passengers. Children under 4 years old or weighing less than 40 lbs. must be in an approved safety seat. A state law further states that children under 6 years old or weighing less than 60 lbs. must be secured in an appropriate child pasenger restraint (safety seat or booster seat).
Drivers may turn right at a red light after making a full stop, unless signs indicate otherwise.
You must report any vehicular accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles if anyone is injured or killed, or if more than $500 in damage is incurred.